Sport » Cricket

Updated: April 14, 2010 15:55 IST

Sehwag is Wisden Cricketer of the Year

print   ·   T  T  
Virender Sehwag
The Hindu Virender Sehwag

Explosive Indian opener Virender Sehwag became Wisden Cricketer of the Year for the second time in a row, beating off competition from England captain Andrew Strauss and Sri Lankan Tillakaratne Dilshan.

The award, which was instituted in 2004, has Australian captain Ricky Ponting, spin wizard Shane Warne and talismanic English all-rounder Andrew Flintoff among its past winners.

The 31-year-old Indian was picked for the honour for a second successive year after scoring “more quickly than any specialist batsman in Tests or One-day internationals”, Cricinfo reported.

Sehwag apart, English wicketkeeper Matt Prior, spinner Graeme Swann, Graham Onions, pacer Stuart Broad and Australian vice-captain Michael Clarke were the ‘Five Cricketers of the Year’ chosen by the magazine.

Sehwag averaged 70, with a strike-rate of 108.9, in the Tests he played last year. In One-day internationals, Sehwag had a strike-rate of 136.5 while averaging 45.

Strauss and Dilshan were also nominated by several correspondents who were consulted about this award but fell short of Sehwag.

More In: Cricket | Sport

Listen to The Hindu's Sports Editor Nirmal Shekar speak to our Sports-Writer Arun Venugopal on India's showing at the Commonweath Games — with a guest appearance by golden girl Dipika Pallikal — India's tour of England, the Jadeja-Anderson controversy and more....Listen in »






Recent Article in Cricket

Photo Courtesy:

BCCI slaps Rs. 250 crore damages claim on WICB

Left fuming by the West Indian cricketers’ mid-series pullout due to a pay dispute with their Board, the BCCI has slapped a damages clai... »