Former National sprint champion Adille Sumariwala and international technical official and technical delegate C. K. Valsan were elected unopposed to the posts of president and secretary respectively of the Athletics Federation of India (AFI) on Saturday.

At its annual general meeting at Manesar, Haryana, the elections turned out to be unanimous for all posts. Justice J. D. Kapoor (retd.) acted as the Returning Officer while there were observers from the Union Government and the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to oversee the elections.

While Olympian Gurbachan Singh Randhawa was retained as the chairman of the selection committee, Jyotirmoyee Sikdar was named head of the newly-formed Women's Commission.

The other members nominated to the Executive Committee were P.T. Usha, Shiny Wilson, National coach Bahadur Sing and former National coach J.S Saini.

The members expressed their concern over the over-age problem and doping, and it was resolved that AFI would crack down strongly on the offenders.

The principal office-bearers: President: Adille Sumariwala; Vice Presidents: W. I. Davaram, K. Ranga Rao, Ashosh Sharma, H. S. Bhadu, Sushil Dutt Salwan, Ravinder Chaudhry and Prahlad Sawant; Secretary: C. K. Valsan; Senior Joint Secretary: Mumtaz Khan; Treasurer; Satyanarayan.

More In: Athletics | Sport