Chief Justices of the Madras, Orissa and Karnataka High Courts, M.Y. Eqbal, V. Gopala Gowda and Vikramajit Sen, were on Monday sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court by Chief Justice of India Altamas Kabir.

Companion judges in the Supreme Court, Delhi High Court Chief Justice D. Murugesan, National Green Tribunal Chairman Justice Swatanter Kumar, Member of the Bar Council of India S. Prabakar, Chairman of Tamil Nadu Bar Council D. Selvam and family members of the three new judges attended the ceremony held in the Supreme Court.

Justice Eqbal (61), who hails from Jharkhand, will have a brief tenure of little over three years; Justice Gowda (61), who hails from Karnataka, a little over four years and Justice Sen (62), who hails from Delhi, just three years. With the swearing-in of the three judges, the strength of the Supreme Court has gone up to 27, and there are four vacancies.

More In: National | News