Nine persons, convicted for their involvement in the 1998 serial blasts here, which left 58 people dead, were released on Tuesday following the Tamil Nadu government’s decision to grant remission to mark the birth centenary celebrations of DMK founder C N Annadurai.

The convicts, members of the outlawed Al-Umma, were sentenced to 13 years in jail by a Special Court for carrying out the blasts during the visit of BJP leader L K Advani for electioneering in 1998, jail authorities said.

The State government has ordered the release of ten convicts, who have completed ten years of imprisonment.

However, only nine-Mohammed Ibrahim, Abdul Rahim, Abdul Faooq, Abbas, Mohammed Rafeek, Abdul Raub, Ashraff, Bakruddin Ali Ahmed and Shahul Hameed- were released on Tuesday.

Shahjahan was not released as he is facing trial in other cases, the authorities said.

Nineteen bombs went off at different places here, including one at Mr. Advani’s meeting venue, on February 14, 1998. 166 persons were arrested in connection with the blasts.

The Special Court had sentenced 57 persons for various terms, including life, under various sections of the IPC, Explosives Act and Arms Act.