The Kalaimamani award winners for 2008 and 2009 were honoured once more, but this time in a much smaller ceremony at the Chief Minister’s chamber.

The 46 people who received the award these two years (2008 and 2009) were formally honoured in a function held in 2010, where they each received their prize money of Rs. 20,000.

Subsequently, the government made a decision to increase the amount to Rs. 50,000 and these award winners were called once more and given the arrears due to them by Chief Minister N. Rangasamy on Wednesday in the presence of Electricity Minister T. Thiagarajan and Director of Art and Culture G. Malar Kannan.

The Kalaimamani awards were started in the year 1997, when the government decided to present awards to outstanding artists, writers and scholars. The government deadline for the application of the Kalaimamani awards for 2010, 2011 and 2012 ended in August.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National