Tamil Nadu Chief Minister J. Jayalalithaa on Sunday extended her greetings to Telugu Desam Party (TDP) leader Chandrababu Naidu on becoming the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh.

In her letter to Mr. Naidu, Ms. Jayalalithaa thanked him for the invitation to the swearing-in ceremony and cited pressing circumstances for her absence but deputed two ministers from her Cabinet on her behalf.

“I convey my congratulations and best wishes to you for a very successful tenure as Chief Minister. I am sure that under your stewardship the state of Andhra Pradesh will reach new heights of prosperity and development,” she said.

Minister for Housing and Urban Development R. Vaithilingam and Minister for Transport V. Senthil Balaji would represent the Chief Minister in the swearing-in ceremony, she added.

Governor E S L Narasimhan will administer the oath of office and secrecy to Mr. Chandrababu at a public function to be held at Nagarjuna Nagar between Vijayawada and Guntur at 7.27 p.m.