Fourteen urban common e-service centres, wherein people can remit power, water and sewerage bills and property tax have been inaugurated by Chief Minister Jayalalithaa in Chennai.

Initially, these centres have been set up at three taluk offices, three zonal offices of the Chennai Corporation, two depots of Chennai Metrowater and six offices of the Urban Credit Cooperative Societies. They will be run by the Electronic Corporation of Tamil Nadu Limited and Tamil Nadu e-Governance Agency.

In the first phase, certificates regarding income, caste and residency will be issued. Also, the centre will arrange to have a certificate issued to prove that a family concerned does not have graduates. Those women abandoned by their husbands can also get certificates from these certificates in support of their condition. A host of schemes being implemented by the Social Welfare Department such as Girl Protection Scheme and Muthulakshmy Reddy inter-caste marriage assistance scheme will be implemented through these centres.

It will be only in the second phase that the remittances of tax and water or power consumption charges can be made through the centres.

The Chief Minister also launched e-district programme and gave away income and caste certificates to seven persons.

More In: Tamil Nadu | National