The biennial election to fill up three Rajya Sabha seats from Kerala, and by-election for one seat from Uttar Pradesh, will be held on June 25, and the counting of votes will be taken up that day at 5 p.m.

The poll is necessitated by the retirement of Rajya Sabha members K. E. Ismail (CPI), P. J. Kurien (Congress), and P. R. Rajan (CPI-M) on July 1, and the death of a member of the Upper House, Brijbhushan (Samajwadi Party) from Uttar Pradesh. Originally, Mr. Bhushan had a term till April 2, 2018.

An Election Commission press note said that the poll notification will be issued on June 8, and June 15 is the last date for filing the nomination. The papers will be scrutinised on June 16, and June 18 is the last date for withdrawal of the candidatures.

More In: National | News | States