The Government Medical College (GMC), Thrissur, emerged overall champions at the All Kerala Inter-Medical College Festival that concluded at the Academy of Medical Sciences (ACME) at Pariyaram here on Wednesday.

The four-day cultural and sports events hosted by ACME ended on the campus with a valedictory function inaugurated by the Kerala Medical University Vice-Chancellor K. Mohandas. The host college that continued its lead on the first two days of the festival was pushed to the second place by the GMC Thrissur which scored 271. ACME bagged 10 points less, while the GMC Thiruvananthapuram secured 199 points.

P. Parvathi of the Co-operative Medical College in Kochi and Vineeth Mohan of the GMC Thiruvananthapuram were adjudged Kalathilakam and Kalaprathibha respectively. Rithu P. Krishna of ACME was selected Sargaprathibha while R.S. Deepa of TD MC, Alappuzha, and Shibila P. Mohan of ACME shared Sahithyaprathibha title.

In the sports segment of the festival, the GMC Kozhikode became the all out champions with 56 points, while ACME and GMC Thrissur shared the second slot with 38 points each. The TD MC emerged third with 28 points. Ahamed Shaheen and Shinhas of GMC Kozhikode were selected best cricketer and best footballer of the event respectively.

Dr. Mohandas distributed the prizes. T.K. Govindan, prsident of the co-operative society controlling ACME, presided. Kannur University Pro Vice-Chancellor A.P. Kuttykrishnan was the chief guest at the function.