The agitation demanding decommissioning of the Mullaperiyar dam is likely to intensify with leaders of the LDF, Congress, and the BJP scheduled to visit the agitation venue here on Wednesday.

Left Democratic Front leaders led by Leader of the Opposition V.S Achuthanandan will arrive here at 2 p.m. He will be accompanied by Communist Party of India State secretary C.K. Chandrappan, former Agriculture Minister C. Divakaran, and the former Water Resources Minister N.K. Premachandran.

Kerala Pradesh Congress Committee president Ramesh Chennithala will reach the venue at 12 noon. Bharatiya Janata Party leader and the former Union Minister O.Rajagopal will arrive at 11 a.m. followed by Congress leader M.M. Hassan at 11.30 a.m. Hindu Aikyavedi State president Kummanam Rajasekharan will arrive at 5 p.m.

Despite a hartal announced by the BJP, Kerala Congress (Mani), and the Kerala Congress (Jacob), many people arrived here on Tuesday, the third day of an indefinite hunger strike launched by Peerumade MLA E.S. Bijimol, Mullaperiyar Agitation Council chairman C.P. Roy, its central committee member Ambazhakan, and ward member Shaiji P.Joseph.

Even people from remote areas, including a large number of women, visited the venue.

On Wednesday, Idukki MLA Roshy Augustine will join the indefinite hunger strike here. Mr. Roy said there was no going back on the indefinite hunger strike till a rightful solution was found to the issue.

More In: Kerala | National