Filing of nominations for the by-elections from the Alapuzha, Ernakulam and Kannur Assembly constituencies began with the Election Commission issuing the election notification on Wednesday morning.

Nominations are being accepted between 11 am and 3 am on all working days up to October 21. Scrutiny of nominations will take place on October 22. The polling will take place on November 7.

Nomination of a candidate belonging to a national or State party will have to be proposed by a registered voter of the relevant constituency. Nomination of others will have to be proposed by ten voters from the constituency.

More In: Kerala | National | States | News