National » Kerala

Updated: May 19, 2010 17:20 IST

Ministers to oversee development plans in districts

Roy Mathew
print   ·   T  T  
A file photo of Kerala Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan.
The Hindu
A file photo of Kerala Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan.

The Kerala Cabinet has resolved that one or two Ministers should directly oversee implementation of plans of the government in each district during the fifth year of government, Chief Minister V.S. Achuthanandan said here on Wednesday.

The following are the Ministers assigned to the 14 districts:

Alappuzha: Thomas Isaac and G. Sudhakaran

Ernakulam: S. Sarma

Idukki: Jose Thettayil

Kannur: Kodiyeri Balakrishnan

Kasaragod: P.K. Sreemathy

Kollam: P.K. Gurudasan, N.K. Premachandran and Mullakkara Ratnakaran

Kottayam: M.A. Baby and C. Divakaran

Kozhikode: Elamaram Kareem

Malappuram: Paloli Mohammedkutty

Palakkad: A.K. Balan

Pathanamthitta: Mullakkara Ratnakaran and Ramachandran Kadannappally

Thiruvananthapuram: C. Divakaran and M. Vijayakumar

Thrissur: K.P. Rajendran

Wayanad: Binoy Viswam

Replying to questions, the Chief Minister said he did not mind the criticism that he was not supportive of his Cabinet colleagues. It was a baseless allegation.

When reporters pointed out the CPI(M) State secretary Pinarayi Vijayan had said the former Chief Minister E.K. Nayanar had led the Cabinet and protected the Ministers, the Chief Minister quipped that he had already said that he did not mind the criticism.

Mr. Achuthanandan said the appointment of political secretary to the Chief Minister would be made soon.






Recent Article in Kerala

A view of the Idukki reservoir inside the Idukki Wildlife Sanctuary.— Photo: Giji K. Raman

Summer surprise at Idukki

Water level stays a stoic average »