A group of eminent poets and litterateurs have urged the government to drop the move to dissolve the Kerala State Library Council.

A joint statement issued by litterateurs, including Akkitham, O.N.V. Kurup, M.K. Sanu, Puthussery Ramachandran, Adoor Gopalakrishnan, Sugathakumari, C.Radhakrishnan, here on Thursday said the library movement had been a perennial source of strength for the renaissance and national movements and formation of the State.

It had cast its imprint in the life and prosperity of Kerala, which had always been a wonder to the rest of the world. There were no parallels for the movement in India and abroad.

It had helped in creating an affinity for reading and spreading the message across the State. The movement had got the unflinching support of successive governments.

The reported bid to destabilise the council on flimsy grounds using the government machinery was unfortunate. The government should desist from such attempts, they said.

The other signatories are M. Thomas Mathew, M. Leelavathy, G. Balamohan Thampi, M. Mukundan, P. Valasala, U.A. Khader, Zakariah, K.P. Sankaran, George Onakkoor, Shaji N.Karun, C.N. Karunakaran, Sara Joseph, Vaisakhan, M.R. Raghava Warrier, Kadathanattu Narayanan, P.K. Warrier, K.P. Ramanunni, U.K. Kumaran, B. Ekbal, Khadeeja Mumtaz and K.X. Anto.