The leaders of V. S. Achuthanandan-T.M.Thomas Isaac faction on Tuesday boycotted the CPI (M) Kanjikuzhy meeting called by district secretary, C.B.Chandrababu on Tuesday for reporting the district committee's decision of removal of Kanjikuzhy area committee secretary, C. K. Bhaskaran.

As many as 15 committee members out of the total of 19 members reportedly left the meeting. They left the meeting shouting slogans in support of the ousted area secretary. The leaders later convened a public meeting at Puthanambalam Junction near Kanjikuzhy in support of Mr. Bhaskaran. A huge rally was also organised by them.

The Kanjikuzhy area committee meeting called on Sunday had to be stopped midway following opposition from a section of leaders of VS-Isaac faction to the removal of the area committee secretary in the absence of Mr. Bhaskaran. The district committee okayed a decision by the district secretariat to restructure both Kanjikuzhy and Aroor area committees alleging that factionalism was strong in these two committees.

The new committees will be inducted with leaders belonging to the official faction led by G. Sudhakaran, MLA in the district.

However, the district committee decision has not been reported to both these area committees owing to opposition from VS-Isaac faction.

Not to accept decision

Kanjikuzhy area committee secretary, C.K.Bhaskaran told reporters that he will not approve of the disciplinary action if the district committee tried to slap it on him forcibly. “However, I will not stay in the party as a slave. Also, I will not join an anti- CPI(M) group even if I am expelled (from the party),” he said.

The CPI (M) district committee meeting on Monday had decided not to buck under pressure and stick to its earlier decision to restructure the two area committees. Kanjikuzhy area committee meeting was convened on Tuesday to report the decision and implement it.

More In: Kerala | National