The Kerala Cabinet deputed a sub committee to hold conciliatory talks with the striking private bus operators as the strike entered the second day on Wednesday.

Chief Minister V. S. Achuthanandan told the media after the Cabinet meeting that Transport Minister Jose Thettayil, Food and Civil Supplies Minister C. Divakaran, Public Works Minister P. J. Joseph, Education Minister M. A. Baby, Industries Minister Elamaram Kareem, Devaswom Minister Kadannappally Ramachandran and Minister for Water Resources N. K. Premachandran would be members of the sub-committee.

Meanwhile, the strike continued to affect public transport. The State Road Transport Corporation operated more services today to clear the rush of passengers.