Karnataka faced a rainfall deficit of 26 per cent at the end of the southwest monsoon. Against the normal rainfall of 835 mm, the State received 615 mm of rain from June 1 to September 30, according to the Karnataka State Natural Disaster Monitoring Centre (KSNDMC), Bangalore.

While south-interior Karnataka received 231 mm (a departure of 35 per cent), north interior Karnataka received 329 mm (a departure of 33 per cent).

The Malnad and coastal districts received 1,137 mm and 2,424 mm rainfall, a departure of 23 per cent and 20 per cent respectively.

According to the Directorate of Economics and Statistics, only six districts — Chitradurga, Udupi, Shimoga, Dakshina Kannada, Bidar and Uttar Kannada — received normal rainfall during the monsoon while it was deficient in 23 districts. Chamarajanagar received only scanty rainfall.

In Bangalore division, 35 taluks received deficit rainfall, in Mysore division it was 27, in Gulbarga it was 24 and Belguam it was 35 taluks.

More In: Karnataka | National