National » Karnataka

Updated: March 14, 2014 01:53 IST

Mallikarjunaiah passes away

Staff Correspondent
Comment   ·   print   ·   T  T  
The Hindu

S. Mallikarjunaiah (82), former Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha, passed away here on Thursday.

Mr. Mallikarjunaiah was in coma since July 28, 2013 after he had a fall in his house. He was first treated in a Bangalore hospital and was shifted to a hospital here three months ago, where he passed away.

He is survived by his wife, Jayadevamma, son and two daughters.

Mr. Mallikarjunaiah, who was born on June 26, 1931 at Honsagere in Tumkur taluk, was an advocate and agriculturist. He became the vice-president of the Tumkur Town Municipal Council in 1956. Mr. Mallikarjunaiah, who was the State president of the Bharatiya Jana Sangh from 1971 to 1977, served as the vice-president of the State unit of the Bharatiya Janata Party from 1980 to 1986 and again from 1990 to 1991.

He was an MLC from 1972 to 1991. From 1985 to 1991 he served as the Deputy Chairman of the State Legislative Council. Mr. Mallikarjunaiah, who got elected as an MP from Tumkur in 1991, 1998 and 2004, was the Deputy Speaker of the Lok Sabha from 1991 to 1996.

Chairman of the Legislative Council D.H. Shankaramurthy, who paid floral tribute to the former MP here, said Mr. Mallikarjunaiah played an important role in building the BJP in South India. The former Chief Minister D.V. Sadananda Gowda, the former Minister C.T. Ravi, district president of the BJP B. Suresh Gowda, MP G.S. Basavaraju, MLC Y.A. Narayanaswami, legislators Rafiq Ahmed, C.B. Suresh Babu, S.R. Srinivas and Sudhakar Lal, and seer of the Siddaganga Math Siddalinga Swami were among those who paid respects.

Mr. Mallikarjunaiah will be laid to rest at Honsagere on Friday.

More In: Karnataka | National
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor





Recent Article in Karnataka

BJP and JD (S) leaders do not have moral right to demand my resignation: Home Minister

Home Minister, K. J. George on Wednesday said that the leaders of Bharatiya Janata Party and Janata Dal (Secular) did not have m... »