Though the protests by supporters of D.K. Shivakumar and A.Manju, Vokkaliga leaders, have died down in Kanakapura and Arkalgud, the supporters of A.B. Maalaka Raddi in Yadgir and Shivashankar Reddy in Gauribidanur, Tanvir Sait in Mysore, Siddu Nyamagouda in Jamkhandi and Malikayya Guttedar in Afzalpur have continued. Their grouse is that 50 portfolios had been distributed among 29 ministers, including Chief Minister Siddaramaiah. Of course, there are still five more vacancies to be filled.

Many “loyal” Congress leaders feel that important portfolios had been given to those from the Janata parivar sacrificing their interests. But, the workers of the AHINDA background argued that the party came to power thanks to their votes. A senior Vokkaliga leader, the sources said, might replace Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G. Parameshwara after nominating him to Rajya Sabha to woo Vokkaliga votes in Old Mysore region in the Lok Sabha elections.

The former Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Council S.R. Patil is still hoping that the high command would make him Minister, while his predecessor Motamma, a former Congress Working Committee Member, is likely to meet party president Sonia Gandhi with other MLCs seeking a berth in the government.

More In: Karnataka | National