The Congress will announce the list of candidates for the Assembly elections after March 30.

Leader of the Opposition in the Legislative Assembly Siddaramaiah told presspersons at Koratagere on Sunday that he will contest the Assembly elections from Varuna constituency.

Mr. Siddaramaiah accused Janata Dal (Secular) supremo H.D. Deve Gowda of politicising the Cauvery issue. He said that Mr. Gowda did little to solve the Cauvery issue when he was Prime Minister and Chief Minister. He denied the charge of Janata Dal (Secular) leaders that the Congress had a secret pact with the Karnataka Janata Paksha.

Karnataka Pradesh Congress Committee president G. Parameshwara said he would contest the Assembly elections from Koratagere.

Ibrahim to head panel

Special Correspondent reports from Bangalore:

Keeping in view the chances of winning the Legislative Assembly elections, the All India Congress Committee has formed an election strategy committee for the first time and appointed rabble-rouser and former union minister C.M. Ibrahim as its chairman.

A press release said the AICC was yet to announce the members of the strategy committee.

It has constituted two other committees — one for campaign and the other for manifesto preparation — and appointed former Legislative Council Chairman and MLC Veeranna Mathikatti and the former Speaker K.R. Ramesh Kumar as their chairmen respectively.

Campaign Committee with MLA D.K. Shivakumar as co-chairman has more than 60 members. The manifesto committee has 44 members.

More In: Karnataka | National