Charkha National Development Communication Network has announced its Charkha Awards for Excellence in Development Journalism (Kannada) for 2012 to be presented to journalists/writers for their articles on development issues.

The award will be presented to the recipients on July 1 by Governor H.R. Bhardwaj at a function at Raj Bhavan here.

Those who are selected for the award categories are: Sheela D’Souza (Child Rights); Ravikumar Bhadravathi (Disability); M.J. Rajeev Gowda Melur (Education); Sanjay Gubbi (Environment); Uma Ananth (General); Bharathi Hegde (HIV/AIDS); and S.S. Mohan Kumar (Water).

The Dharwad-based Centre for Agriculture Media (CAM) has bagged the Mentor Award for ‘Encouragement to Development Journalism’ for its activities supporting agriculture journalism.

Hema Prasanna, Deputy Director of Communication for Development and Learning, told presspersons here on Thursday that a selection committee chose the recipients.

She said that the individual award carries a cash prize of Rs. 10,000 and a citation, the Mentor award carries a citation.

More In: Karnataka | National