Budding artists from Mysore and surrounding districts gave vent to their creativity at The Hindu Young World Painting Competition 2014 held at Ramakrishna Institute of Moral and Spiritual Education (RIMSE) here on Sunday.

The sprawling green campus of RIMSE came alive with a riot of colours as young participants drawn from schools in Mysore, Kodagu and Hassan districts worked their magic. Held simultaneously across 15 cities in India, the main sponsor was MIOT Hospitals and the associate sponsor in Mysore was Canara Bank.

The competition was conducted for students in junior and senior category. Well-known artist Badal Nanjundaswamy, a product of the Chamarajendra Academy of Visual Arts (CAVA), and his team of judges had a tough time selecting winners.

‘Strive for excellence’

Maheshatmananda swami, correspondent at RIMSE, urged children to strive for excellence. “Do whatever you do with confidence, and nothing can stop you from succeeding in it,” he added.

The swami said that the competition was being held on the RIMSE campus for the seventh consecutive year. That an association of different institutions like The Hindu, Canara Bank and the Sri Ramakrishna Ashram were conducting the event was an example of teamwork.

S.T. Ramachandra, Deputy General Manager, Canara Bank Circle Office, Mysore, complimented The Hindu for providing an ideal platform to express their creativity. He touched upon various initiatives of Canara Bank in supporting children’s education by way of loans.

The bank had also extended support to institutions reaching out to students from economically weaker sections as part of its corporate social responsibility programme, he added.

G.R. Venkatesh, Regional General Manager, The Hindu, Mangalore, was also present.


The winners of the competition were: Ashutosh Dhawan, Bharatiya Vidya Bhavan, Kodagu (first prize); B.A. Vignesh Vasanth, BVB, Kodagu (second prize); and H.D. Deevith of Royal Apollo International School, Hassan (third prize) in the senior category. Consolation prizes went to P.S. Shradha of BVB, Kodagu; B.V. Sujan of SVEI Public School, Mysore; Apeksha G. Raj and S. Sachin, St. Joseph’s Central School, Mysore (Yelwal); N. Yashaswini, CFTRI School, Mysore; and B.S. Sujana and M. Karan Somanna, BVB, Kodagu.

In the junior category, the first three prizes were bagged by students of BVB, Kodagu.

Aanchal Muthamma came first; S. Sajeev Bhagath, second, and Sujal Machaiah, third. Consolation prizes went to S.G. Utkarsh of Excel Public School, Mysore; P.R. Arya, Keerthana and B.S. Sanjana of BVB Kodagu; K. Vineeth Rao of St. Joseph’s Central School, Mysore; M. Vivek of Kendriya Vidyalaya, Hassan; and Lekhana Muthakka of BVB, Kodagu.

More In: Karnataka | National