A total of 3,957 candidates have filed their nominations for the May 5 Assembly elections in the Sate.

Karnataka Chief Electoral Officer Anil Kumar Jha told presspersons here on Thursday that scrutiny of nominations in the 224 Assembly segments was in progress.

April 17 was the last day for filing nominations. April 20 is the last day for withdrawal.

He said 23 constituencies have more than 16 candidates and eight segments over 32. Only 16 names can be accommodated in each ballot unit. More than this number necessitates deployment of additional units. Highest number of candidates filed papers in KGF (42) while least number of nominees in Deodurg in Raichur (6), the CEO said.

Mr. Jha said more than 20 lakh new voters have been added, and the total number of electorate eligible to cast vote is likely to be around 4.36 crore after deletions in the State.


Authorities seized cash of around Rs. 1.4 crore and 500 cases of liquor on Wednesday and Thursday.

Since Wednesday, cash seizures included those from Hiriyur (Rs. 60 lakh), Varthur (Rs 25 lakh), Gokak (Rs. 11 lakh), Savadatti (Rs. 8.38 lakh), Malur (Rs. 6 lakh) and Tiptur and Raichur (Rs. 5 lakh each). FIRs have been registered in these cases, and several persons arrested.