The Mandya district administration has made all arrangements for polling to the seven urban local bodies (ULB) in the district on Thursday.

Elections will be held in 161 wards of the Mandya City Municipal Council, Pandavapura Town Panchayat (TP), Srirangapatna Town Municipal Council (TMC), K.R. Pet TMC, Maddur TMC, Nagamangala TP and Malavalli TMC. As many as 252 polling booths have been set up across the district and 1,384 officials have been deputed for election duty. As many as 2,10,421 voters, including 1,05,471 women, are expected to exercise their franchise.

The district administration on Wednesday handed over electronic voting machines to the officials deputed for election duty. Mandya Deputy Commissioner B.N. Krishnaiah and Mandya Superintendent of Police Borase Bhushan Gulabrao visited several polling stations to take stock of the preparations.

People using public transport may face some inconvenience on Thursday as the Karnataka State Road Transport Corporation has withdrawn several services to ferry election authorities.

Keywords: Mandya polls

More In: Karnataka | National