Chief Justice of the Delhi High Court Dipak Misra and Chief Justice of the Kerala High Court Jasti Chelameswar were sworn in as judges of the Supreme Court on Monday.

Chief Justice of India S.H. Kapadia administered them the oath of office at a brief function held in his court hall. With the swearing-in of these judges, the total strength of the Supreme Court has gone up to 28 as against the sanctioned strength of 31.

However, Justice R.V. Raveendran is due to retire on October 14, when the strength will come down to 27.

Justice Misra hails from Orissa. He will have a tenure of about seven years in the Supreme Court and will have an opportunity to become the Chief Justice of India.

Justice Chelameswar represents Andhra Pradesh. He too will have a tenure of about seven years.


Supreme Court gets 2 new judgesOctober 2, 2011

Supreme Court to get five more judges September 11, 2011

More In: National | News