Bypolls to Firozabad Lok Sabha constituency in Uttar Pradesh as also 31 Assembly seats in seven States, including 11 in UP and 10 in West Bengal, will be held on November 7.

The bypoll in Firozabad has been necessitated by the resignation of Samajwadi Party MP Akhilesh Yadav, son of SP supremo Malayam Singh Yadav, who had also won from Kannauj seat in the State.

Mr. Akhilesh Yadav’s wife Dimple has already been made SP candidate from the seat which is expected to see a keen contest with Congress putting up former SP MP and cinestar Raj Babbar there.

Besides 11 seats in UP and 10 in West Bengal, elections would also be held for three seats in Kerala, two each in Assam, Himachal Pradesh, Rajasthan and one in Chhattisgarh.

Announcing the schedule for the bypolls on Monday, the Election Commission said counting of votes would take place on November 10.

Powagan (SC), Lucknow West, Padrouna, Rari, Isauli, Jhansi, Kolasala, Hainsar Bazar, Lalitpur, Etawah and Bharthana (all in UP), Kalchini (ST), Raiganj (SC), Sujapur, Goalpokhar, Bongaon, Contai South, Egra, Serampore, Alipore and Belgachia East (all in West Bengal) would go to polls.

Other seats are : Kannur, Alappuzha and Ernakulam (in Kerala), Salmara South and Dhekiajuli (both in Assam), Rohru and Jawali (in HP), Salumber (ST) and Todabhim (ST) (in Rajasthan), and Vaishali Nagar (in Chhattisgarh).

Most of the seats have fallen vacant due to sitting members becoming MPs in the recent general elections.


RJD-LJP inflict a blow to Nitish September 17, 2009

More In: National | News