The YSR Congress is all set to win a majority of the ZPTC and MPTC seats in Kadapa district.

The YSR Congress bagged eight Zilla Parishad Territorial Constituencies out of 10 ZPTCs and won 275 Mandal Parishad Territorial Constituencies in Kadapa district even as counting of votes progressed in the district headquarters. The local body results came as a morale booster to the YSRC rank and file, which was disheartened by the municipal election results.

The TDP won two ZPTC seats and bagged 147 MPTC seats. The Congress candidates were elected in five MPTCs and Independents won five MPTCs.

Two hundred and thirty seven candidates were in fray for the 50 ZPTC posts and 1,695 candidates contested for 535 MPTC posts in Kadapa district, for which polling was held in two phases on April 6 and 11. Twenty four MPTC members were already elected unopposed.

Counting was taken up in 50 rooms in the three centres, with six counting tables in each room. Thousand votes were being counted in each round for ZPTCs and votes of each MPTC were being counted on a table. The ballot papers stored in strong rooms in the new Collectorate complex were shifted by APSRTC DGT buses under the leadership of returning officers, tahsildars and MPDOs.

Counting of votes of ZPTCs and MPTCs in Kadapa revenue division was taken up in Keshava Reddy School, those of Rajampet division - in Srinivasa Institute of Technology and Science, and those of Jammalamadugu division - in Madeena Engineering College here.

The contestants and one counting agent each were permitted into the counting halls. One supervisor and three counting assistants took up counting.

Earlier, counting assistants separated the ballots cast for ZPTC and MPTC candidates and made bundles from 8 a.m. The results started trickling in slowly from 11 a.m. onwards. As many as 2,200 counting staff and about 400 police personnel were deployed at each counting centre.

District Collector K. Sasidhar, Election Observers Muralidhar Reddy and B. Digambar, Joint Collector M. Rama Rao, Additional Joint Collector M. Sudarshan Reddy and RDOs D. Haritha, Vijaya Sunitha and G. Raghunatha Reddy, returning officers and mandal special officers oversaw the counting process.