Party accuses government of failure to prevent attacks on Dalits

A crucial meeting of the YSR Congress on Friday unanimously authorised the president, Y. S. Jaganmohan Reddy, to decide on the party stand in the Presidential election on July 19.

A resolution to this effect was passed at the extended State Council meeting at the party office here.

“Both the Presidential candidates have approached us and we have unanimously adopted a resolution authorising Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy to take a decision in this regard,” the party’s political affairs committee member Konathala Ramakrishna told reporters here.

Nine resolutions

Through nine other resolutions adopted at the meeting, the party accused the government of failure to address farmers’ problems and prevent the growing attacks on Dalits, besides diluting welfare schemes introduced by late YSR.

The party also sought a judicial probe into the conduct of the CBI in its ongoing investigations against Jagan.

Chairing the meeting, the party’s honorary president, Vijayamma, gave a call to the party cadres to gear up for the local bodies’ polls.

She said despite match-fixing between the Congress and TDP, the people had reposed faith in the YSR Congress in the recent by-elections.

“Neither YSR nor Jagan have committed any mistake. I have highest regard for the laws and judiciary and hope that my son will come out proving his innocence,” she pointed out.

The Pulivendula MLA said she will hold fort till Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy is out of jail and takes up the reins of the party again.

YSRCLP named

She explained the response to her visit to New Delhi to meet Prime Minister Manmohan Singh and others. Nellore Member of Parliament Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy reportedly said that the Prime Minister was perturbed over the developments in the State.

Central Governing Council member M. V. Mysoora Reddy pointed out that the national political parties had understood how the CBI was being used to target Mr. Jaganmohan Reddy.

Ms. Vijayamma announced the names of office-bearers of the Legislature party.

They are Dharmana Krishnadas, M.Sucharita and Shoba Nagi Reddy, deputy leaders T. Balaraju, N. Prasanna Kumar Reddy, secretaries G. Srikanth Reddy, coordinator, and Balineni Srinivasa Reddy, whip. Executive body members are G. Babu Rao, G. Gurunatha Reddy, K. Srinivasulu and M. Chandrasekhara Reddy.