Various speculations gain ground on the eve of election to LS, Assembly seats

As the dust of the high decibel campaign has settled down in the district, different speculations over the result is gaining ground on the eve of elections to Lok Sabha and Assembly seats.

With all the political bigwigs including Union Minister of State for Communication and Technology Killi Kruparani, former Union Minister K.Yerrannaidu’s son Kinjarapu Rammohan and greenhorn Reddi Shanti in the fray for the Srikakulam MP seat, poll pundits are expecting that the results may surprise many.

Multi-corner contest

On the other hand, all eyes are fixed on the Assembly segments where former Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao (Srikakulam-YSRC), Satrucharla Vijayaram Ramaraju (Patapatnam-TDP) and Kondru Muralimohan (Rajam-Congress) have emerged as the strong contenders.

Though multi-corner and keen contests are on the cards in majority of the seats including Palasa, Itchapuram, Srikakulam and Rajam, political pundits predict that the major fight will be between the Telugu Desam Party and the YSR Congress. They also expect that the candidates of the Congress, the Samaikyandhra Parirakshana Samiti may upset the electoral prospects of the TDP and YSRC.

All not lost for Congress

The Congress, which is in for a strong criticism from the voters over bifurcation issue, have not lost hope completely which it was evident from the enthusiastic campaign by former Minister Kondru Murali Mohan (Rajam) and Chowdari Satish (Srikakulam) and Naresh Agarwal (Itchapuram) and Vanka Nageswara Rao (Palasa). Samaikyandhra Parirakshana Samiti’s candidate and former MP Kaniti Viswanatham (Palasa) has also left no stone unturned to woo the voters, much to the tension of YSRC candidate Vajja Baburao.

Mr. Viswanatham left the YSRC opposing the entry of former Minister Dharmana Prasada Rao into the party. Poor coordination bugs YSRC

Meanwhile, lack of coordination between YSRC MP candidate Reddi Shanti and Assembly nominees has become another concern for the Jagan bandwagon. TDP candidates are also in tension due to the group dynamics in places like Rajam and Patapatnam.

Sources say TDP candidate for Rajam, Pratibha Bharati, could not get the support from the loyals of former Minister Kala Venkata Rao, who is contesting from Etcherla. Mr. Satrucharla also failed to get the support from local TDP cadre as he shifted loyalties in the last minute.