Lok Satta Party has unveiled its strategy for the 2014 elections by declaring its first list of candidates and announcing a novel Suggest Your Candidate (SYC) drive. National president Jayaprakash Narayan, addressing a press conference here on Friday, said the time had come for people to lead the change.

The party has announced its first list of 25 candidates chosen not only for their honesty and integrity but are capable of being outstanding legislators. While JP will contest once again from Kukatpally, Katari Srinivasa Rao, State party president, will be fielded from Serilingampally.

Candidates were also announced for Jubilee Hills, Sanathnagar, Musheerabad, Nampally, Malkajgiri, L.B. Nagar, Yellareddy, Siddipet, Khammam, Visakha North, Visakha East, Kakinada, Pedana, Guntur West, Ongole, Nellore, Gudur, Tirupati, Nandyal, Rajendranagar, Husnabad, Bhupalapally and Sulurpeta.

He said SYC was a call to action for the public to suggest Lok Satta candidates for their constituencies and to cement Lok Satta’s position as a party that was grounded in representative democracy. In contrast to the traditional parties that auction tickets to the highest bidder, Lok Satta would make it citizen centric by offering voters the opportunity to participate in identifying potential candidates.

The party in the last three days received more than Rs. 30 lakh in donations and 1,000 plus volunteers through its website win.loksatta.org and pledges for additional Rs.3 crore towards party funds. However, Central authorities blocked the payment gateway though the citizens were sending their donations in a transparent manner, party leaders said.