All political parties intensified their campaigns for the municipal polls as the campaign will end on Friday. All major parties including the Telugu Desam Party, YSR Congress and Congress are hopeful to win the majority of seats in Itchapuram, Amadalavalasa, Palasa and Palakonda.

The polls will not be held in Rajam and Srikakulam due to the legal tangle over the merger of nearby villages with the respective towns. TDP district president Chowdary Babji expressed confidence that the party would win the chairperson seats. YSR Congress leader Dharmana Krishnadas hoped that the party would emerge victorious in comfortable number of seats both in municipal and Zilla Parishad polls. The Congress has little hope as it could not field candidates in the many municipalities.

Keywords: Municipal pollscampaignends