E. Gopal has been re-elected president of The Hindu Office and National Press Employees' Union in the elections held here on April 8.

M. Kamalanathan was re-elected general secretary, while G. Kumar and P.R. Perumal were elected vice-presidents.

S. Martin Thomas will be joint secretary and P. Jayarathinam, treasurer. This is the second consecutive victory for this team of office-bearers. They were first elected in June 2008.

On Monday, the newly elected office-bearers called on the Editor-in-Chief of The Hindu, N. Ram, and other directors of Kasturi and Sons Ltd. Mr. Gopal polled 650 votes, while the rival candidate, T. Sadasivam, got 289 votes. For the post of general secretary, Mr. Kamalanathan received 659 votes to prevail over E. Sathyanarayanan, who got 279 votes.

Keywords: The Hindu Union

More In: Chennai | National | News