MRTS goes full nine-car

The arrangement is likely to be a great relief to passengers during peak hours.

Commuters using the Mass Rapid Transit System (MRTS) operating between Chennai Beach and Velachery have something to cheer about as the six-car rakes have been replaced with nine-car train services.

A senior official of the Southern Railway said uniform operation of nine cars replacing six-car trains was launched on the MRTS section from July 31. Even before that date, almost 80 per cent of the services on the MRTS section were operated with nine cars, particularly during peak hours. The advantage arising out of the nine-car services would be the availability of ‘First Class’ compartments for commuters, which were previously not available, he added.

R. Krishna Prabhu, who boards the MRTS service at Perungudi station, said the growing popularity of the MRTS could be vouched from the fact that trains are getting filled up at Velachery station itself during the morning hours. He said the operation of nine-car rakes would bring relief in the form of additional breathing space for commuters using MRTS services, which normally run jam-packed during morning rush hours.

Commuters, while welcoming the introduction of nine-car services, wanted the Southern Railway to extend the train services towards Velachery during night time, as there are no train services after 10 p.m.

The senior official when asked about this demand however said that at present, there is no proposal to increase the train services.

Original plan:

MRTS was to be constructed in phases from Chennai Beach to Villivakkam via Thirumayilai, Thiruvanmiyur, Velachery and St. Thomas Mount.

Another route was to proceed from Perungudi to Kalpakkam via Sholinganallur, Navalur, Kelambakkam and Mahabalipuram.

  • 1983-84: Work on first phase from Chennai Beach to Thirumayilai for a length of 8.55 km. is taken up through Railways Ministry.
  • November 16, 1995: Services from Chennai Beach to Chepauk inaugurated by Chief Minister Jayalalithaa
  • October 19, 1997: Stretch extended to Thirumayilai
  • 1997-98: Work on Phase-II from Thirumayilai to Velachery commences
  • January 26, 2004: First train stops at Thiruvanmiyur
  • November 19, 2007: Extension of services to Velachery launched by then Chief Minister M. Karunanidhi
  • April, 2008: Work on MRTS Phase II Extension from Velachery to St. Thomas Mount starts

Why you should pay for quality journalism - Click to know more

Recommended for you
This article is closed for comments.
Please Email the Editor

Printable version | Feb 24, 2020 12:37:40 PM |

Next Story