Cities » Bengaluru

Updated: May 4, 2011 15:57 IST

Nadig chosen for Dr. Rajarathnam Sahitya Paricharaka Award

Special Correspondent
print   ·   T  T  
Poet, critic, short-story writer and translator, Dr. Nadig is the third recipient of the award.
Poet, critic, short-story writer and translator, Dr. Nadig is the third recipient of the award.

The Kannada Book Authority has chosen noted poet Sumateendra Nadig for the Dr. G.P. Rajarathnam Sahitya Paricharaka Award for 2010 which carries a purse of Rs. 50,000 and a citation.

The award was instituted in the name of renowned poet G.P. Rajarathnam, who contributed his might to enrich Kannada literature by reaching books to the doorsteps of readers to promote reading culture.

Though the annual award was instituted in 2008, it was presented for the first time in 2010 to literary critic Ki. Ram. Nagaraj and M. Anke Gowda for 2008 and 2009 respectively. Poet, critic, short-story writer and translator Dr. Nadig is the third recipient of the award.

Disclosing this to presspersons on Tuesday, Chairman of Kannada Book Authority (KBA) Siddalingaiah said Dr. Nadig was a a close associate of the leader of the modernist literary movement, Mogeri Gopalakrishna Adiga. His Dampatya Geta had been translated into English, Hindi, Bengali and other Indian languages and his Panchabhoota was considered to be an important contribution to modern Indian literature. He is well known for his critical studies on Bendre, Narasimhaswamy and Adiga.

Besides being a disciple of Rajarathnam, Dr. Nadig promoted literature by conducting various workshops, seminars on writing poems, and his bookshop in Gandhi Bazar, Bangalore, in the 70s was a place where poets and writers, including Mr. Adiga, P. Lankesh, Nisar Ahmad, Chandrashekara Kambara, Gopalakrishna Pai, S. Divakar, Ramachandra Sharma and others met. “Considering his contribution to the field of literature, he has been chosen for the prestigious award,” Mr. Siddalingaiah said.

Talented few

Over 23 young writers have been selected for the 2011 manuscript award and recipients would be given Rs. 10,000 to publish manuscripts selected by the committee set up by the KBA. “Of the 125 manuscripts received, the committee has selected 23 in various genres of literature,including, short stories, novels, articles and poetry. It is significant that a majority of those chosen are from rural areas,” he said.


The KBA will organise a book mela for three days from May 5 on the premises of Ravindra Kalakshetra. Over 70 publication houses, including various universities, Kannada bodies and academies will showcase their works. The mela will be inaugurated by linguist G. Venakatasubbaiah. “The authority has appealed to publishers to extend 25 per cent concession to the readers on the occasion. Melas of this kind will help the publication industry to a great extent,” he noted.

More In: Bengaluru | Books

Bangalore Connect Newsfeed





Recent Article in Bengaluru

Arguments conclude in assets case

The Special Public Prosecutor (SPP) and counsel for the convicts completed arguments before the Karnataka High Court on Friday in appeal... »