First-year students of 330 colleges will be the first examinees of new varsity

Students of colleges affiliated to Bangalore University (BU) — both of the present and future batches — will find themselves in a unique situation from the coming academic year. As part of the government’s mega exercise to divide one of the largest educational entities in the country into two, the university will become Bangalore University (the Jnanabharathi campus) and DVG Jnanavahini University (the Hoskote campus) from 2013-14.

Consequently, exams that students in the first year of around 330 affiliated colleges coming under the Hoskote university’s jurisdiction (Bangalore North, Hoskote, Devanahalli, Doddaballapur and all taluks of Chickballapur and Kolar districts) will come under the purview of the new university. Students in the second and final years in all colleges will remain with Jnanabharathi’s examination scheme.

This means that the first-year students across these 330 of the current Bangalore University’s 654 affiliated colleges will be the first examinees of the new university.

Geographical division

These details have emerged from the first jurisdictional report submitted to the State government for approval. A university source said that the report endorses the geographical division of colleges as proposed by the Karnataka State Higher Education Council, besides addressing matters relating to the establishment of the DVG Jnanavahini University campus, conduct of exams and affiliation of colleges, among others. The jurisdictional report will come up for discussion in the budget session scheduled for February 4.

“The new university will start functioning from the next academic year (2013-14). Students admitted to the first year (of undergraduate courses) in affiliated colleges located in the north will be the first batch to write exams conducted by the new university. Students in the second and third years in all affiliated colleges, irrespective of jurisdiction, will continue under the old university’s exam system,” said the source.

Rs. 200 crore funds

Another recommendation in the report involves funding for the new university. While an initial amount of Rs.200 crore has been sought for the Hoskote campus, those involved in setting it up are also hoping for corporate sponsorship. Unconfirmed reports said the new university will spread across 400 acres at Hoskote. Government Arts College, Maharani’s Arts College, Government Science College, Maharani’s Science College and Government Home Science College will be made constituent colleges of DVG Jnanavahini University.