At 70.57 per cent, Visakhapatnam recorded the lowest voter turnout in Andhra Pradesh in the May 7 general elections to the Lok Sabha and State Assembly. It was also less than the 72.54 per cent recorded in 2009. Incidentally, polling percentage went up by 6 per cent during 2009 compared to 2004 but it has dropped now.

All rural and Girijan segments showed an increase in the turnout but there was a drop of 10 to 3 per cent in the five city segments coming under the Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency, compared to the 2009 elections.

According to an official statement issued late Thursday afternoon, 20,62,192 out of 35,48,870 voters in the district exercised their franchise. Out of 16,70,727 male voters, 10,22,697 cast their vote and 10,38,656 out of 16,75,687 female voters turned up for polling.

Transgenders were given voting right this time but only one out of the 239 transgenders participated in the polling.

(The final polling figure might show a little variation since complete details of votes polled in Gajuwaka, Pendurthi and Araku Valley (ST) are not received yet).

The city people seemed to have not responded well to the campaign carried out by the State and district administrations to increase polling percentage or did not bother about the close contest between Telugu Desam and YSR Congress. Percentage of votes polled in Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha segment was 67.78 and the 85.09 turnout in S. Kota Assembly segment and Bheemili (75.05) which fall under this LS constituency contributed more as the five city segments recorded between 59.87 and 65.50 per cent only.

On the other hand Anakapalle Parliamentary constituency recorded 82.2 per cent, an increase of 3 per cent over 2009 elections. Except Pendurthi Assembly segment, which is part of Visakhapatnam city, which partly showed its “city character” by recording 77 per cent though its percentage increased by 2 per cent, Assembly segments under Anakapalle recorded 80 per cent or more and voter turnout in all these segments was higher than 2009.

The two segments of Araku Lok Sabha (ST) constituency in the district - Araku Valley and Paderu – both reserved for STs, recorded 64.58 per cent turnout, which was 2 per cent less than 2009. Araku Valley recorded 70 per cent and Paderu 59.15 per cent, compared to 60.57 and 55.97 respectively of last year.

Like in 2009 elections, Elamanchili segment under Anakapalle LS constituency recorded the highest turnout of 85.11 per cent.

Polling percentage

The following is polling percentage of each Assembly segment (with 2009 turnout percentage in brackets): Visakhapatnam Lok Sabha constituency: S. Kota 85.09 (82.4); Bheemunipatnam 75.05 (78.8); Visakha East 64.40 (67.6); Visakha South 65.50 (73.6); Visakha North 59.87 (67.5); Visakha West 59.93 (69.41); Gajuwaka 64.64 (69.1).

Anakapalle Lok Sabha constituency: Chodavaram 84.51 (80.72); Madugula 84.56 (81.34); Anakapalle 82 (78.14); Pendurthi 77 (75); Elamanchili 85.11 (83.35); Payakaraopeta (SC) 80.57 (74.5) and Narsipatnam 81.82 (76.95).

Araku Lok Sabha constituency: Araku Valley 70 (60.57), Paderu 59.15 (55.9).