Rajya Sabha Member T. Subbarami Reddy has written to Railway Board Chairman Arunendra Kumar seeking re-routing of six trains that are bypassing the Visakhapatnam railway station through the city.

Train Nos. 18047/18048 Howrah—Vasco-da-Gama—Howrah, 22855/22856 Santragachi-Tirupati weekly superfast express, 12867/12868 Howrah-Pondicherry-Howrah weekly superfast express, 22831/22832 Howrah-Puttaparthi (Prasanthi Nilayam)-Howrah superfast express, 12253/12254 Bhagalpur-Yeswantapur-Bhagalpur weekly superfast express, and 12552/12551 Kamakhya-Yeswantapur-Kamakhya A/C weekly express, which are presently being diverted via Duvvada, should be routed through Visakhapatnam.

Mr. Reddy noted that re-routing of these trains was a must in view of the demand of the travelling public. He also sought provision of a two-minute halt to Visakhapatnam-Secunderabad Garibrath Express and Visakhapatnam – Chennai superfast express at Duvvada in East Coast Railway and a halt to Chennai–Howrah superfast Coromandal express at Nellore in South Central Railway.

More In: Visakhapatnam