Memoranda to be submitted to Sushma Swaraj, Arun Jaitely and other senior leaders

Members of the Visakhapatnam Bar Association have decided to meet the leaders of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha Sushma Swaraj and Arun Jaitley respectively in New Delhi on Thursday and request them not to extend their support to the proposed Bill for creation of Telangana State.

The association leaders will submit a memorandum to the two leaders as also BJP president Rajnath Singh and senior leaders L.K. Advani and M. Venkaiah Naidu as part of the agitation against the Congress Working Committee (CWC) resolution of July 30 and further steps being taken by the UPA Government to divide the state, association secretary N. Sanyasi Rao said in a statement.

A PowerPoint presentation would also be made to highlight the problems that would crop up after bifurcation of the State and the people’s agitation against bifurcation that has been going on for over 75 days. The delegation will be led by association president N.V. Badarinath.

The members of the association would stage a dharna at Jantar Mantar in New Delhi on October 18 in which around 5,000 advocates from all over Seemandhra, from AP High Court and from the Supreme Court were expected to attend. He said the future course of action would be decided at the Samaikhyandhra Pradesh Advocates Meet to be held at AU Convocation Hall on October 26.

Meanwhile, members of the Gajuwaka Bar Association continued their relay hunger strike for the 43 day on Tuesday.

Association president V. Eswara Rao, secretary M. Pattabhi Rama Rao and advocate M. Narayana Rao participated in the hunger strike on Tuesday. The advocates demanded that the Centre give up its adamant stand and take back the Cabinet Note on Telangana.

Association members Surapaneni Rajeswara Rao, S. Ramana Babu, D.V. Rama Rao, M. Rama Sudhakar and B. Vijay Kumar were present. Telugu Desam leader P. Raja Rao visited the camp and extended his support to the striking lawyers.

The AP Government Doctors Association has decided to continue to boycott all OP and OT duties, except emergencies, at PHCs, CHCs, Area and district hospitals, ESI hospitals and teaching hospitals in Seemandhra from October 17 to 26, according to State secretary APGDA and convener Doctors JAC Pidakala Shyam Sundar.

Doctors from all the 13 districts in Seemandhra would launch an indefinite strike in Tirupati from October 21, if there was no positive decision on keeping the State united by then, Dr. Shyam Sundar said.

More In: Visakhapatnam