Railway Zone Sadhana Committee at its meeting here on Thursday decided to intensify the agitation for achievement of a separate railway zone.

Committee convenor J.V. Satyanarayana Murthy and members Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar (TDP), G.V. Ravi Raju (YSR Congress), T. Subbarami Reddy, M. Nagendra and P.V.N. Madhav (BJP), Venugopal (Lok Satta), G.V.M. Reddy (MCPI (U)), and Sankar Rao (AITUC) discussed the future course of action to achieve the long-pending demand for establishment of a separate railway zone with Visakhapatnam as its headquarters.

Statement decried

The meeting ridiculed the statements of the Railway Board Chairman ruling out the possibility of the merger of Waltair Division with South Central Railway and the reasons given by him.

The meeting described it as a failure of the people's representatives, who were representing Visakhapatnam.

The meeting decided to stage a protest at the Divisional Railway Manager's Office on August 5 followed by a round-table meet with all political parties.

It was also decided to stage a dharna outside the Railway Board office. Later, the committee members met Police Commissioner J. Purnachandra Rao and sought his cooperation in making the agitation for separate zone a success.

More In: Visakhapatnam