Atheist Centre in the city will host an international conference on the theme “Be Bold and be Human: March Towards Equality” to mark the 100 birth anniversary of freedom fighter, social reformer, and co-founder of the Atheist Centre Saraswathi Gora.

The two-day event will take place at Siddhartha auditorium on September 28 and 29.

“A photo exhibition on the life and works of Saraswathi Gora will mark the inaugural at 10.30 a.m. Sonja Eggerickx, president of International Humanist and Ethical Union (IHEU) and a prominent educationist from Belgium, will be the chief guest on the occasion,” G. Samaram, former president of Indian Medical Association (IMA), told a press conference on Friday.

K. Veeramani, Chancellor of Periyar Maniaammai University, and president, DK, Chennai, will preside over the inaugural session,” he said.

“We deem it fit to utilise the occasion for starting the much-awaited Gora & Saraswathi Gora Atheist International Research Centre and release of books “Gora, Saraswathi Gora & Atheist Centre” and Saraswathi Gora’s autobiography “My Life with Gora” in English by Jim Herrick,” said G. Vijayam of the Atheist Centre.

The battery of luminaries attending the conference include chairman, Free Academy, Germany, and president of German Freethinker Association, Brandenburg, Germany, Volker Mueller, well known rationalist writer and former editor of Humanist, London, Jim Herrick, national president of Gandhi Peace Foundation, New Delhi, Radha Bhatt, and former Vice-Chancellor of Acharya Nagarjuna University V. Balamohan Das.

The list of resource persons at the conference includes national president of FIRA, Mangalore, Narendra Nayak, former Vice-Chancellor of Open University R.V.R. Chandrasekhara Rao, former Vice-Chancellor of South Gujarat University B.A. Parikh, general secretary of FIRA U. Kalanathan, philosopher, Orissa Rationalist Association, Dhaneswar Sahoo, international representative of IHEU Babu Gogineni, chairman of Samskar Lavanam, Dean, Institute of Gandhian Studies, Wardha, Siby Joseph, former MP and chairperson of Vasavya Mahila Mandali, Vijayawada, Chennupati Vidya and a host of others.

More In: Vijayawada