Atheist Centre’s 75th anniversary to be celebrated on January 5, 6

The Atheist Centre will be celebrating its 75th anniversary with an international conference at Siddhartha College of Arts and Science here on January 5 and 6.

The conference will have delegates speaking on topics such as atheism, humanism, paranormal claims, youth and development etc.

Announcing this at a press conference on Monday, Atheist Centre Executive Director G. Vijayam said Levi Fragell, former president of International Humanist and Ethical Union would deliver the presidential address and National Knowledge Commission former vice-chairman P.M. Bhargava would give the inaugural address.

Cultural programme

A cultural programme on ‘Life and work of Gora’ would be organised on the same evening, and a photo exhibition depicting the journey of Atheist Centre would be inaugurated by IHEU vice-president Roar Johnsen.

Periyar Maniammai University Chancellor K. Veeramani would deliver the valedictory address.

Some of the other visitors include Norwegian Humanist Secretary General Kristin Mile, German humanist Volker Mueller, Lok Satta founder Jayaprakash Narayan, Acharya Nagarjuna University former Vice-Chancellor V. Balamohandas and Federation of Indian Rationalist Associations president Narendra Nayak.

Social reformers

Mr. Vijayam said that the Atheist Centre has been in the forefront of promoting scientific outlook through various events.

The 75 years of Atheist Centre witnessed two of the world-renowned social reformers and close associates of Mahatma Gandhi, Gora and Saraswathi Gora, building atheism as a way of life and positive atheism as a philosophy.

Under their able leadership, the Atheist Centre has been promoting and spreading awareness about the importance of ‘developing scientific temper, humanism and the spirit of inquiry and reform’ which the Constitution envisaged under Article 51-A (h).

The Atheist Centre has also been striving for secularism, environmental consciousness, human rights and social reforms, Mr. Vijayam added. Conference Conveners G. Samaram, Maru, Vikas Gora and Niyanta were present.

More In: Vijayawada