JAC objects to KCR’s remarks against Seemandhra government employees

The municipal employees in 13 districts of coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema have joined hands for Samaikyandhra, and also to protest against the Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) president K. Chandrasekhara Rao remarks on Government employees.

The AP Municipal Employees JAC, in its emergency meeting here on Sunday, has decided to launch 72-hour strike from Monday.

Addressing a press conference, the JAC leaders said that the 72-hour strike would commence with pitching of tents in front of municipal offices.

The employees would stage protests in the morning, and form human chains at the important junctions.

The municipal schools’ teachers would be asked to boycott the classes and join the agitation. On second day of strike, the government offices and educational institutions would be closed down. On last day of the strike, massive rallies would be taken out by the employees and workers, they said.

The JAC also decided that its members should not vandalise the statues and government properties.

The JAC would chalk out action plan after three days and work in consultation with AP NGOs Association. If the government has not responded to the agitation, the emergency services would come to a grinding halt, they threatened.

The JAC leaders deplored that KCR remarks were unwarranted.

“The Telangana was not ‘jageer’ (property) of KCR. Who is he to say Jago Bago?

His unparliamentarily language and threats hurt the Seemandhra people, and the government has not reacted strongly to his comments.

The real Telangana protagonists should drive him out as he hails from Seemandhra,” they said.

JAC honorary chairman Ch. Srinivasa Rao, convener T. Venkataramaiah, AP State Municipal Commissioners Association treasurer S. Sivaramakrishna, AP Municipal Ministerial Association president S. Krishnamohan Rao, executive member Haribabu, VMC Employees Union president Eswar and others were present.

MLAs participate

City MLAs Malladi Vishnu and Vellampalli Srinivas said that they were committed to an undivided state.

The MLAs along with A.P Official Language Commission chairman Mandali Buddha Prasad, Samaikhyandhra Krishna district political JAC convenor Kolanukonda Sivaji, Student JAC chairman Devineni Avinash participated in a rally taken out from the Sub-collector’s office to the Tummalapalli Kalakshetram and paid tributes to the Telugu Thalli statue. Former PCC secretary Akula Srinivas Kumar, former Mayors M. Ratnabindu and Mallika Begum and several former Congress corporators participated in the rally. Later in the evening a candle-light rally was taken out again from the Sub-Collector’s office by the Sri Sashasra Foundation and All Non-Governmental Organisations Together Association.