Nominations of the AIADMK, the DMK, the Congress, the CPI(M) and the DMDK candidates contesting from the Tiruchi Lok Sabha constituency and those of a few others were accepted during the scrutiny of applications here on Monday.

The nomination papers were scrutinised at the Collectorate in the presence of Collector and Returning Officer Jayashree Muralidharan and general observer Harendranath Bora.

Thirty seven candidates had filed their nominations between March 29 and April 5 to contest from the Tiruchi Lok Sabha constituency.

An official release issued here on Monday said the nominations of candidates, including P. Kumar (AIADMK), Mu. Anbazhagan (DMK), R. Sarubala Tondaiman (Congress), S. Sridhar (CPI-M), and A.M.G. Vijayakumar (DMDK) were accepted.

The nominations of their alternative candidates were rejected.

The nomination of an independent candidate from Pudukottai was rejected.

As two candidates – K. Balakrishnan and R. Raghavan — had filed their nominations from the Akila Bharath Hindu Mahasabha and stated that they were the real candidates of that party during scrutiny, a decision was put on hold.

An announcement would be made on Tuesday at 11 a.m., the release added.