National Teachers’ Day will be celebrated today

Sr.Seema, though nervous, was determined to give her best as she prepared to walk up the stage for her group song performance.

A teacher at St. Vincent’s Colony TTI, Kozhikode, her team has won the third place in group song for the past two years at the ‘Teacher Training Institute/ Pre-Primary Teacher Training Institute (TTI/PTTI) Kalotsavam.’ This time, they had done some extra practice to better their performance and try to bag the first place at the 18 State-level TTI/PPTTI Kalotsavam, held at the Government Higher Secondary School for Girls, Cotton Hill, here on Tuesday. The kalotsavam is organised in connection with the National Teachers’ Day to be celebrated on September 5.

District-level winners from various teacher training institutes (TTI) and pre-primary TTIs participated in the kalotsavam. Competitions in 12 events, including group song, elocution, mono act and ‘mappilappatu’ were held at the venue.

I.P. Drisya, a second-year student at Rose Dale TTI, Kallambalam, who was seen practising with her team for the group song event said she was disappointed as no competitions were organised in dance category.

“We bagged the first prize in group song last year and hope to repeat the success. In the previous years, competitions were held in dance forms such as Bharatanatyam. But, now competitions are organised only in a few events. I am afraid that too will cease after a few years,” said Drisya.

Some teams were disappointed about the lack of participation of first year students as their admission process was going on.

Speaker G. Karthikeyan will inaugurate the Teachers’ Day celebrations on the school premises on Wednesday. Health Minister V.S. Sivakumar will preside. Minister for Education P.K. Abdu Rabb will present the State awards for best teachers,

Prof. Joseph Mundassery Sahitya Award, Vidhyarangam Cash Award, Best Parent Teacher Association award and prizes for the winners of various cultural competitions for teachers.

A total of 43 teachers, including 14 primary teachers, 13 high school teachers, nine higher secondary teachers and seven vocational higher secondary teachers, from across the State will be presented the best teacher award.