The first edition of the Swami Vivekananda Yuva Prathiba awards, instituted by the State Youth Welfare Board, will be presented to winners from various walks of life in Kottayam on January 12.

Addressing a press conference here on Monday, Youth Affairs Minister P. K. Jayalakshmi said the award is aimed at identifying excellence among youngsters in the fields of agriculture, art, literature, social work, entrepreneurship, sports and media. The award comprised Rs.50,000, a sculpture and citation. Youth clubs from across the State that performed well too were being honoured.

The winners of the first edition of the awards, to be presented by Chief Minister Oommen Chandy on January 12, ware Suresh Kaliyath (Art – Ottanthullal), Diju V. (Sports – Badminton), Digol Thomas (Agriculture), Veena George (Media), Vinod Nambiar (Social Work), Mohammed Gaddafi (Entrepreneurship), and Arshad Bathery (Literature). The Lucky Star Arts and Sports Club of Kavanthoor, Malappuram, would be presented with the State-level award for youth clubs while 14 other clubs had been selected for the district-wise awards, the Minister said.