Students take Common Entrance Test, but keep options open

A large number of students wrote the Common Entrance Test held in 21 centres in Dakshina Kannada, keeping their options to look elsewhere open. While 6,250 students wrote the Biology paper in the morning, 10,340 students wrote the Mathematics paper in the evening.

Gaurav Nayak, a student of Sharada College, and another student Soundari K. said they were eyeing seats in National Institute of Technology and Indian Institute of Technology. The two have written the Joint Entrance Examination (Mains) held in the second week of April. The marks scored in the JEE Mains will be considered for NITs. The two have qualified for the JEE (Advanced) — examination for IIT admission — which will be held on May 25.

Mr. Nayak’s classmate Kishan Bhat said his preparation had been focused on the JEE. “No separate preparation the CET. I am also writing the entrance examination by MAHE,” said Mr. Bhat, who plans to pursue mechanical engineering degree.

Vikas P.U. College’s Akash Patil, a medical seat aspirant, said he would be writing the undergraduate entrance test to be conducted by the Consortium of Medical, Engineering and Dental Colleges of Karnataka (COMEDK) on May 11.

“I have done well in the two papers. I hope to get a seat under the CET,” he said.

Swati Dilip Nayak of Sahydri P.U. College, said though questions in Mathematics paper were direct she did take a minute more to answer some questions. “Time for mathematics paper could have been increased,” she said.

The CET examination on Thursday went off without a hitch in all the 21 centres. SDM College Ujire and SDM Residential College were the two new examination centres this time. As many as 728 students from Belthangady are writing examinations from the two centres. There are 10 centres in Mangalore, six in Moodbidri and three in Puttur.

Vasudev Kamat, who is holding charge as the Deputy Director of Pre University Education, said there were no complaints or confusions in any of the examination centre.

Five officials comprising — two sitting squads, question paper custodian, central observer and Chief of Examination centre — were posted at each of the examination centre. Of the five, three officials were from other districts.


CET off to a smooth startMay 2, 2014

More In: Mangaluru