It was a display of sheer enthusiasm at The Hindu Young World Painting Competition, 2010, as around 600 children from dozens of schools in the neighbouring districts converged here.

Seated in rows in the hall of St. Rita's English Medium School in Jeppu, the children whiled away two hours on a Sunday morning painting.Salvya S. Raj, of Rani Public School, Vadakara, Kerala, won the first prize in the senior category (classes 8 to 10) for her water colour depicting a man and a girl playing the harmonium in a train for money. Second and third places went to Shreya Hareendran of Azhikode High School, Azhikode, and Aishwarya Ganesh, class 10 student of Ursuline Senior Secondary School, Kannur, respectively.

In the junior category, (classes 4 to 7), Irfan Ali K.K., of St. Joseph's Higher Secondary School, Telicherry came first, for his painting on children playing blind man's buff. Arshiya Ashok, class 7 of Kasturba Public School, Kannur, and Amith V. Kamath, class 5 of Canara English Higher Primary School, Dongarakery, Mangalore, came second and third respectively.

Those who won the first prize got cash of Rs. 5,000 in the senior category while it was Rs. 3,000 and Rs. 2,000 for second and third prize winners. In the junior category, the first prize was Rs. 3,000, second Rs. 2,000 and third Rs. 500. Each category had seven consolation winners who received Rs. 500 each.

The national sponsors for the event were MIOT Hospitals, Chennai and regional sponsors were School Book Company and Hangyo Ice Cream. The judges were artists Ganesh Somayaji, John Chandran, and Rajendra Kedige.

Consolation prizes (Junior Category): Sumith Kumar, Rosario English Medium Higher Primary School, Mangalore; Guru Saurabh, Besant English medium School, Mangalore; Manishma Manoj, Infant Jesus Joyland School, Mangalore; Arjun O., Azhikode High School, Azhikode, Kerala; Vasudha Kumblekar, Besant English School, Mangalore; Anirudh Kamath, Sharada Vidyalaya, Mangalore; Megha, Infant Jesus Joyland School.

Senior Category: Shamitha G., Kendriya Vidyalaya – I, Mangalore; U. Mangala Nayak, Canara Girls High School, Dongerkeri; Anusha Jain, St. Thomas English Medium School, Alangar, Moodbidri; Shubham R. Vernekar, St. Aloysius High School, Mangalore; Neha Rao, Canara High School, Urwa; Anupama K.K., Azhikode High School, Azhikode; M. Vaibhav Shenoy, Canara High School, Dongerkeri.

More In: Mangaluru