K. Thiraviam of the All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) was elected unopposed as Deputy Mayor of the Madurai Corporation here on Sunday. Mr. Thiraviam had been elected as councillor from Ward 23, Vilangudi.

The former Deputy Mayor of the city corporation, R. Gopalakrishnan, was elected from ward 4 in October 2011. He had resigned from the post on March 4 this year to contest the parliamentary elections from the Madurai Constituency which he won to become a Member of Parliament. Corporation Commissioner C. Kathiravan, who was the returning officer for the elections, announced that Mr. Thiraviam had been elected unopposed. Mayor V.V. Rajan Chellappa was also present during the election and the announcement.

Mr. Thiraviam was handed over the official certificate stating his post by the Returning Officer Mr. Kathiravan. The newly elected Deputy Mayor was then congratulated by councillors.

The AIADMK councillors, who currently enjoy a majority in the Corporation Council, were present in half strength during the announcement. None of the councillors of the Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (DMK) were present during the announcement of the new Deputy Mayor.

More In: Madurai