Hundreds of followers of Ayya Vaikundar from Tirunelveli, Tuticorin and Kanyakunari districts gathered at Nagaraja Thidal here on Monday to participate in a procession to Swamithoppu for celebrating Ayya’s 181 birth anniversary.

The procession, which started at Nagaraja Thidal, passed through Meenakshipuram, Kottar, Edlakudi, Kariyamanikkapuram, Suchindrum, Vazukkamparai, Ethancadu and Swamithoppu.

The Tamil Nadu State Transport Corporation (Tirunelveli division) operated special buses from various destinations to Swamithoppu for the benefit of the followers of Ayya Vaikundar.

The district administration had already announced a local holiday on Monday.

However, the higher secondary examinations were conducted as per the schedule.

Forest Minister K.T. Pachaimal, MLA Nanjil A. Murugesan, film director and AIADMK functionary P.C. Anbazaghan, president of Vallalar Peravai Padamendra, the head priest of Thalamipathi at Swamithoppu Bala Prajapathi Adigalar and others participated in the procession.

More In: Madurai