All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) leaders in the district are in no mood to give up the Madurai Lok Sabha Constituency to any of the political parties the ruling party is likely to ally with in the coming Parliament elections.

“We have already impressed upon our party leaders to retain Madurai LS seat for us (AIADMK) which we have not won in the last four decades,” Minister for Cooperation and party Madurai Urban district secretary K. Raju said on Thursday.

The wish of the party leaders here is not without a reason this time. For, ever since the AIADMK-led front swept all the 10 Assembly constituencies in the district in 2011 Assembly election, it has only tasted victory in successive elections. “Without any coalition, our party made a mark in the local body elections winning 79 out of the 100 posts of councillors in Madurai Corporation,” Mayor, V.V. Rajan Chellappa said.

Mr. Chellappa won the Mayoral election with a huge margin of 1.74 lakh votes.

Subsequently, the party also won majority of the posts in the Cooperative elections.

However, the leaders said that it is for the party leader Jayalalithaa to take a final call on allocating the Madurai Lok Sabha seat.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist), which will get the AIADMK’s support for Rajya Sabha election, has been keen on getting the Madurai Parliamentary seat once its alliance with the ruling party is sealed.