In view of communal tension prevailing in parts of Hyderabad’s old city area, prohibitory orders have been clamped for three days starting Tuesday under seven police station limits.

City Police Commissioner Anurag Sharma, in a notification issued in Hyderabad on Monday night, said the orders under Section 144 of CrPC would come into force from Tuesday and will end on November 8.

“Communal tension is still continuing between two groups in some parts of the old city... which may cause disturbance to public peace and order,” the Commissioner said.

“In order to maintain public order, peace and tranquillity, prohibitory orders have been imposed banning assembly of five or more persons in the limits of five police stations in South Zone and two police stations in West Zone,” Mr. Sharma said.

The police stations where prohibitory orders have been imposed are Charminar, Hussaini Alam, Mirchowk, Shalibanda and Moghalpura in South Zone and Kulsumpura and Tappachabutra police stations limits of West Zone.

Incidents of communal violence had been reported in some areas of the old city, including Sabzimandi and Ziaguda, under the Kulsumpura police station limits last week.